Cel Kids' Holidays

Whether its Halloween, Thanksgiving, Christmas, Haunakah, Valentines day, or Easter, the Celiac Support Association members want you to enjoy these special occasions while looking out for your young ones. The following lists are free from wheat, rye, and barley. Please share your favorite finds.  email


Halloween

1. Gluten-Free Candy List

  • Most candy is gluten-free, if you take away the obvious cookie-based candy.
  • Sort your child's candy stash carefully to determine those to choose and those to check further and those to eliminate. Include your child in the process.
  • Plan ahead, buy extra gluten-free favorites, to "trade" come Halloween (and the days after).  Child doesn't feel deprived. Don't hesitate to make the replacement candy something extra-special! Perhaps something made together as a family.
  • Make trading and gathering treats a game, with specific (age-appropriate) rules. For example, you could trade one Hershey's chocolate kiss (which is gluten-free) for every Hershey's mini bar (which is not gluten-free), but a full-sized Baby Ruth bar (which is gluten-free) might "cost" four Hershey's minis.

2. Tips for a Gluten-Free Halloween

  • Looking for ways to cope with Halloween — or to help your gluten-free child cope? Some children get upset around Halloween because they fear social situations that include foods. Use this as an opportunity to discuss feelings -- perhaps use Halloween masks to role play.
  • How about throwing your own Halloween party? If you control the food, you can make it completely gluten-free ... and that should please your little ghost or goblin. If that's not possible, there are other things you can do, ranging from supplying the food for a school party to focusing the holiday on the costume, not the candy.
  • A little creativity goes a long way, especially when it comes to soothing potentially bruised feelings. Talk to your child about Halloween wishes, and go from there.

3. Gluten-Free Halloween Party Food  "What can I eat here?" and you answer, "Everything!"

  • Host Your Own Party! Many communities now discourage trick-or-treating, instead encouraging parents to organize Halloween parties for the children to attend. If this is the case for your community (and even if it isn't), try to host a Halloween party yourself. If you're in charge, you get to control the candy, and you can provide only gluten-free Halloween food and candy for the attendees. Imagine the smile on your child's face when he asks "What can I eat here?" and you answer, "Everything!"
  • If you've decided to host a Halloween party, you'll need some gluten-free food ... so here are some scary recipes to try. Severed Finger Cheese Sticks ought to make a big hit with your creepy crowd, as will Bloody Good Halloween Punch. And don't forget the Deviled Ghoul Eggs!
  • If you're hosting a smaller get-together, consider making caramel apples.
  • Gluten-Free Halloween Candy Recipes
  • If you're feeling truly adventurous this Halloween, you can try making your own gluten-free candy. You might find you start a new family tradition: Making gluten-free Halloween candy every year, just like your gluten-free Christmas cookies.
  • Supply Food for a School Party! Your child's school may hold a Halloween party – many do. In this case, volunteer to purchase the candy and snacks so that you can make certain most or all are gluten-free. It's unlikely that you'll be able to tell your child that everything at the party is without risk, of course, since other parents almost certainly will bring food. A nice assortment of gluten-free food and candy available and your child will be able to enjoy the party.

4. Other options for a Gluten-Free Halloween

  • Offer Non-Candy Items.  Children get so much candy at Halloween that they're happy to find non-food items in their treat sack. Rubber worms and small, stretchy "jelly" dinosaurs and other animals please many children, especially boys, while girls like stickers, temporary tattoos and even plastic flowers. If you wander through your local dollar store, you'll get lots of inexpensive ideas for non-food Halloween treats, and your child might even agree in advance to give up all his gluten candy for something else he wants.
  • Halloween lets kids' imaginations run wild, since they can dress up as (practically) anything they want.  Develop pretty elaborate plans by starting early. Encourage all aspects of the holiday and put lots of energy into the dress-up game (making your own Halloween costume can be a great family activity), you can help make Halloween all about the costume and relegate the candy – whether or not it's gluten-free – to a distant second place.

Spring Candy List 2015 Valentine’s Day/Easter

Verified February 2015

Hershey: Kisses and Nuggets
Please visit website for full gluten-free list: http://www.thehersheycompany.com/nutrition-and-wellbeing/nutrition-information/special-dietary-needs/gluten-free-products.aspx
 
Endangered Species Chocolate: all candy bars are gluten-free
http://www.chocolatebar.com/docs/esc_faq.pdf
 
Premium Chocolatiers: Makes a variety of gluten and dairy-free chocolate
http://www.premiumchocolatiers.com/valentines-c-28.html
 
Wrigley: all products are gluten-free, except the Altoid mini peppermints, including Starburst, Orbit, Juicy Fruit, Wrigley’s Spearmint, extra gum, Doublemint gum, Skittles, Lifesavers, Eclipse Gum, Winterfresh Gum, Lifesavers, Airwaves .
http://www.wrigley.com/global/brands/us-brands.aspx
 
Tootsie Roll: All candy is gluten-free including Andes Mints, Baking Chips, Candy Carnival, Blow Pops, Charm Pops, Sugar Babies, Carmel Apple Pops, Charm Blow Pops Minis, Charms Flat Pops, Dots, Crows, Tootsie rolls (all flavors), Cry Baby Extra Sour Candy, Cry Baby Extra Sour, Bubble Gum, Double Bubble (all flavors), Fluffy Stuff Cotton Candy, Junior Mints, Frooties (all), Sugar Daddy, Tootsie Pops, Nik-L-Nip Wax Bottles, Razzle’s
http://www.tootsie.com/faqs
 
Yummy Earth: all candy is gluten-free including Sour Beans, Fruit Snacks, Gummy Bears, Lollipops and Drops
http://yummyearth.com/
 
Just Born: Mike and Ike, Hot Tamales, Peeps (verify labeled gluten-free), Goldenberg’s Peanut Chews, Teenee Beanee     
http://www.justborn.com/get-to-know-us/faqs
 
Gimbals Fine Candies: all candy is gluten-free, dairy-free, soy-free, egg-free, peanut-free
http://www.gimbalscandy.com/allergen-free.html
 
Jelly Belly: Jelly Beans
http://www.jellybelly.com/frequently-asked-questions
 
Nestle: Baby Ruth, Nips, Divine filled Chocolate, Sno Caps, Raisinettes (dark and milk chocolate), Oh Henry, regular size and original flavored Butterfinger (snack size not gluten-free)
 
Cliff Bar & Company: Fruit Rope
 
Natural Candy Store: specialty candies made for the holidays may differ from traditional packaging.  Always check the label!
 
M&M’s
http://us.mms.com/us/legal/allergen.html
Plain and Peanut
(Not pretzel m&m’s)
 
Necco
http://www.necco.com/FAQs.aspx
They make the following products which do not contain gluten from wheat, rye, oats or barley:
NECCO Wafers, NECCO Chocolate Wafers, Candy Buttons, CANADA Mints & CANADA Wintergreen, Mary Jane, Banana Splits Chews, Mint Julep Chews, Haviland Thin Mints, Haviland Wintergreen Patty, Sky Bar, Sweethearts (Valentine's Day), Mary Jane Peanut Butter Kisses (Halloween)
 
Surf Sweets
http://www.surfsweets.com/faqs/#toggle-id-4
All candy is gluten-free.
Organic Fruity Hearts, Organic Fruity Bears, Organic Spring Mix Jelly Beans, Gummy Bears
 
Dove
Large Milk Chocolate and White Chocolate Bunnies, Flat and Oval Eggs, Milk Chocolate and White Chocolate
http://us.mms.com/us/legal/allergen.html
 
See’s
All candy is gluten-free.
http://www.sees.com/pdf/SeesAllergenInfo_2014.pdf

 

Product packaging can change, and seasonal products may be packaged in a separate facility that handles gluten. Always read the label when verifying gluten-free.

Download the list


Christmas

Holiday traditions of baking Gluten-free Christmas cookies — if anything, most people with special food needs bake more often around the holidays.

Hanukkah

The Jewish festival of Hanukah traditionally includes many dishes naturally gluten-free or easy to  adapt. Potato latkes (pancakes), one of the classic Hanukah foods, are usually made with flour or matzo meal, but it's very easy to use gluten-free flour or potato starch instead. Typical Hanukah foods such as potato latkes andsufganiyot(jelly donuts) tend to involve a lot of oil. If you want to avoid the oil, there's also a recipe for gluten-free Hanukah cookies in the list below. Chocolate too is popular, especially little chocolate coins wrapped in gold foil.

For more great recipes become a member today!